

Perpetual announces longlist for 2024 Miles Franklin Literary Award

By Perpetual Private

16 May 2024



Perpetual, the trustee of the Miles Franklin Literary Award, today announced ten authors have been included on the 2024 longlist. They will be competing for one of the most recognised literary prizes in Australia, with the winner also receiving \$60,000.

Selected from 104 books, the Award celebrates novels of the highest literary merit that tell stories about Australian life.

The 2024 Miles Franklin Literary Award longlist is:

Author	Novel	Publisher
Hossein Asgari	Only Sound Remains	Puncher & Wattmann
Jen Craig	Wall	Puncher & Wattmann
Lauren Aimee Curtis	Strangers at the Port	Hachette UK
André Dao	Anam	Hamish Hamilton (Penguin Random House)
Gregory Day	The Bell of the World	Transit Lounge
Melissa Lucashenko	Edenglassie	University of Queensland Press
Angela O'Keeffe	The Sitter	University of Queensland Press
Sanya Rushdi	Hospital	Giramondo Publishing
Charlotte Wood	Stone Yard Devotional	Allen & Unwin
Alexis Wright	Praiseworthy	Giramondo Publishing

According to the judging panel, "The 2024 longlist engages profoundly with the historical, cultural, philosophical, artistic and environmental concerns of present-day Australia, spanning a breadth of narrative forms and literary styles. The list includes powerful stories of the legacies of colonisation and dispossession, and the strength, richness and humour of First Nation responses.

Historical novels explore hitherto untold and unexpected stories of First Nations contact with settler-colonials as well as the multinational, multicultural roots of present-day Australian society. There are elegiac explorations of the diverse historical, political, economic, environmental, and ecological drivers of immigration. Some contemporary novels engage experimentally with ekphrastic responses to international poetry, music, art and artists. Others provide insightful portraits of individual and imaginative responses to mental health and present some highly unusual, and thought-provoking, vignettes of life during the pandemic.

The tyranny of distance often ascribed to Australian literature is challenged by these novels that span generations and geo-political spaces."

The 2024 judges are Richard Neville, Mitchell Librarian of the State Library of NSW and Chair; literary scholar, A/Prof Jumana Bayeh; literary scholar and translator, Dr Mridula Nath Chakraborty; book critic, Dr James Ley; and author and literary scholar, Prof Hsu-Ming Teo.

Last year, the Miles Franklin Literary Award was awarded to Shankari Chandran for her novel, *Chai Time at Cinnamon Gardens* (2023).

Join the Miles Franklin conversation

Get all the latest updates about the Miles Franklin Literary Award via social media.



About the Miles Franklin Literary Award www.milesfranklin.com.au

Perpetual is the Trustee for the Miles Franklin Literary Award. The Award was established in 1954 by the estate of *My Brilliant Career* author Stella Maria Sarah Miles Franklin to celebrate the Australian character and creativity. It supports the betterment of Australian literature by each year recognising the novel of the highest literary merit which presents Australian Life in any of its phases. Since being established, the Award has distributed over \$1.48 million in philanthropic funds to authors. Those wishing to be part of the Miles Franklin legacy can donate to the Franklin Support Fund to become a friend of the Award. Please visit the website for further details.

Copyright Agency's Cultural Fund is a long-time supporter of the Miles Franklin Literary Award, providing \$5,000 to each of the finalists and granting more than half a million dollars to this premier Australian literary prize since 2004.

About Perpetual Philanthropic Services

Perpetual is one of Australia's largest managers of philanthropic funds, with \$3.3 billion in funds under advice for charitable trusts and endowment funds (as at 30 June 2023). Perpetual is trustee for over 1000 charitable trusts and endowments and provides individuals and families with advice on establishing charitable foundations and structured giving programs. Each year Perpetual distributes more than \$129 million to community organisations on behalf of its clients. Perpetual also assists charities and not-for-profit organisations with investment advice and management.

Perpetual's Philanthropic Services and advice are provided by Perpetual Trustee Company Limited (PTCo), ABN 42 000 001 007, AFSL 236643. The information contains general information only and is not intended to provide advice or take into account personal objectives, financial situation or needs. The information is believed to be accurate at the time of compilation and is provided by PTCo in good faith. To the extent permitted by law, no liability is accepted for any loss or damage as a result of any reliance on this information. PTCo does not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information included in this document which was contributed by a third party.

About the Copyright Agency and Cultural Fund

The Copyright Agency is an Australian not-for-profit organisation that has been standing up for creators for more than 40 years. We enable the reuse of copyright-protected words and images in return for fair payment to creators. The Cultural Fund is the philanthropic arm of the Copyright Agency, contributing meaningfully to a wide range of Australian cultural, educational, and artistic programs and creators. Through its support it fosters greater understanding and engagement of national culture both locally and internationally.

Copyright Agency's Cultural Fund is a long-time supporter of the Miles Franklin Literary Award, providing \$5,000 to each of the finalists and granting more than half a million dollars to this premier Australian literary prize since 2004.